This is a hard one to write. I have learned so much about each of you and am thankful for the opportunity to get to know each of you.

Who I Chose to Write About

I chose to focus on the story of Catherine Pelley-Cat. As I read her LE#9 I was in awe of her positive attitude and perseverance. She has gone through some very difficult times in her young life and still maintains an outlook of optimism and strength. She has overcome losing important people in her life, spinal surgery and her parents divorce. Yet she doesn’t seem to let these things have a negative influence in her life. She pulled herself up by her boot straps and continued to walk the road towards her goals.

Playing it Safe

In her LE#1 she writes, ” I would hate to look back on my life journey and realize that I played it safe my entire life. I only get to experience this life once so I might as well experience all that it has to offer.” I really admire this outlook. I have to say that I am the opposite of Cat. I have always played it safe and walked the straight line. Now as I am a little older I realize some of the things I missed out on by playing it safe and have made some changes. If I could offer any advice to anyone it would be what she said-reach out, experience life, take chances and seize the day! 

Strength

In LE#4 she writes, “I learned that life will throw me many more obstacles, but I will continue to overcome them because I am strong and dedicated and will persevere through any challenges that come my way.” It is her optimism and strength that continues to shine throughout her obstacles. Again looking at this from someone slightly (LOL) older, I admire her outlook. It will serve her well in the days ahead. As someone who has traveled a bit farther on this road, I can tell you there will be hard times, but it is how you deal with those hard times that makes you who you are. 

Learning Event #10

The directions of LE#10 state, “What did you learn about this individual during your walk together? What elements of their walk resonate with materials that you shared in your story?”  I have already written about what I have learned about her, but what will stick with me is her attitude and outlook. I have also gone through some difficult times, as I am sure most of us have. There are times I just want to say “Enough!” and crawl into bed with my covers over my head. But in reality, that doesn’t get you anywhere. Through my faith I got through some very difficult times and I have learned to pull myself up by my boot straps. Now it’s time to take more chances in my life. I shocked my family and friends this year by stepping out of my comfort zone to go on a trip with someone at the last minute. No planning, no taking the time to think things through-just packed my bags and went. My son thought something was wrong and was contacting my sister throughout my stay. I know for me, I need to do more of this.Life is short and no one is promised tomorrow. What am I waiting for? 

Thank You

While I have to say that I was greatly moved by Cat’s experiences, I want to say thank you to all of you. I have learned so much from each of you. I am so thankful for your patience and willingness to teach an old dog new tricks. Thank you Margaret and Richelle for taking the time to teach me how to do the technology part of this class. I would be lost without you. 

Here is the link to her blog

https://catherinepelley.withknown.com/2016/walkmyworld-le9

 

 

