I have to say that poetry is not my strong suit so I was a little apprehensive going into this chapter. I have to say it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. The articles were easy to read and gave me some ideas of things to incorporate into my own classroom. The articles for this week were Poetry is like directions for you imagination by Christine Duthie and Ellie Kubie Zimet and Poetry Top 10: A Foolproof Way for Teaching Poetry by Mara Linaberger. 

Poetry is like directions for your imagination

In this article two first grade teachers share how they teach poetry in their classroom. They break down how they teach the students about poetry and help them to engage in writing their own poems. I really liked the idea of a poetry bulletin board with different shapes papers reflecting the different categories of poems. I think this is a great visual for children and in poetry is all about visualizing. As the article continues there is a discrepancy among the children about what category a poem belongs in-feelings, things around us or images. This goes to show that people can read and/or understand poems in different ways. “The class had animated discussions about where a particular poem belonged on the bulletin board. The children taught us that poems belong in different places for different people.” I think this statement is full of insight because poetry means different things to different people. Kudos to the teacher for allowing the children to put the poems in different categories based on their feelings. She really empowered them to make their own decisions and by them feeling empowered, they were vested to complete the project and feel proud of their accomplishments. 

Poetry Top 10: A Foolproof Way for Teaching Poetry

This article really spoke to me as I have already confessed that I am intimidated by poetry. The purpose of this article was to encourage teachers that poetry is not so scary and should not be be intimidating. Sounds perfect for me! “…fears may include a teacher’s perceived need to have skill in the teaching of poetry methods and conventions, as well as an understanding of how to analyze and interpret poetry.” Yes they had me in their heads when they wrote this article. She writes about how she had to overcome teaching poetry and gave advice as well as plan to teachers to help them on the road to teaching poetry. I really liked her Top 10 Action Plan. I think she gave some really good ideas to help those of us who are a little reluctant to teach this subject. 

Poems to Teach in Class 

Since I work in a Pre-K class, I would introduce poems with hand movements, such as this one….

The Little Turtle 

There was a little turtle.
He lived in a box.
He swam in a puddle.
He climbed on the rocks.

He snapped at a mosquito.
He snapped at a flea.
He snapped at a minnow.
And he snapped at me.

He caught the mosquito.
He caught the flea.
He caught the minnow.
But he didn’t catch me.

turtle

