This week’s readings were my favorite so far. I really enjoyed the two articles, Using Children’s Literature to Enhance Phonics Instruction by Phyllis Trachtenburg and Supporting Phonics Instruction with Children’s Literature and Writing by Dr. Greg McVerry. These readings are so relevant to the teachings I do with my students. I am a firm believer that children should learn phonics. I think this gives them the tools they will need to decode words throughout their lives. 

In the article Using Children’s Literature to Enhance Phonics Instruction Trachtenburg writes, “Today you will learn one sound that the letter a may stand for. This will help you read many more words that contain the letter 0.”This is a great way to break down the different letter sounds for young children. This is a way they can start to learn how to decode words. She continues to give great examples on how to teach phonics. I like her whole, part, whole sequence strategy. I think this is a good strategy to teach phonics. While it is not the only strategy, it does help to break down sounds and be able to apply it in other readings. 

I really like the hands on learning that can occur by using the tool Storyscape on the computer. In his article Dr. McVerry introduces this tool as a way of teaching phonics. What I love the most about this tool is that the children can really facilitate their own learning! They can pick their own characters, settings and dialogue. I think this tool can be used in a variety of ways to teach phonics, basics of a story and literature. The children will be excited because it allows them to be empowered and make their own choices of character, setting, story line and dialogue. Their excitement will propel them to dig deeper in their learning and continue to grow in their academics. 

I enjoyed reading both these articles and am going to use the skills mentioned in these articles in my own teaching. 

 

