I really enjoyed this week’s readings on the Elements of Literature. I felt that I could relate best to the article Teaching Literary Analysis by Rusul Alrubail. I am not sure if is because she mentions Bloom’s Taxonomy and gives many examples on how to help children to dig deeper into literature. In our experience plans (lesson plans) we need to have at least 3 areas where we use Bloom’s Taxonomy. One of the popular areas that I use Blooms is in reading stories to children. I want them to be able to dig deeper in the story and to understand it. I think children’s literature is so important. Sadly so many of my children do not have anyone to read books to them. Albrubail lists five points to help children understand literature. In my class (Prek) we usually do the first two steps but they are broken down into “little kid” language. It is my desire to give them a love for reading and to help them understand the story and be able to relate it to their own lives.

I liked Tracy Gardner’s triangle on plot structure. I think it makes a lot of sense. As a visual learner, it would really help me to understand the different literary areas in a story. However for me personally, this is a little above my kid’s understanding. I think this is a great tool for anyone teaching older children how to dissect a story.

I enjoyed the quick guide to literary elements. This would be a great tool for older students and those who teach older students. I have to say I don’t remember learning about some of these stages such as inciting force and the difference between tone and mood. I think they just combined the inciting force with the climax. As for tone and mood, I remember learning about tone but not mood. But again, I came from the dark ages.  LOL

12644643_1081722265182109_345060686110274428_n

I thought you guys might enjoy this. In the school that I work in, many times we are still taking care of the Maslow stuff (basic needs). You just want to wrap your arms around them and love on them.

 

12688052_961390163951416_2104867027031585372_n

Here’s another one I thought you guys would like. I know this is how I feel when they “get it” by using a strategy that they have been taught. It’s an exciting moment.

