Reading the article Do Graphic Novels Count by Brigid Avlerson really opened my eyes to graphic novels. While I have never thought of graphic novels as being a part of literature, I can see why there is this conflict about them. When most of us think of children’s literature we think about the great classics-Goodnight Moon, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, Green Eggs and Ham and of course The Hungry Caterpillar. Well at least in my world of preschool classics this is what comes to mind. I could go on with other early childhood classics, but you get the point.  I have not used graphic novels and didn’t think they existed for this age group. So of course, I had to google it. LOL. While there was nothing really for preschool children, I found some graphic novels for children a little older (ages 5 and older).

I wouldn’t use graphic novels for the age group I work with, I think it would be a great idea to include these along with other books as part of a literature class. This is just another venue of literature. Teachers can use these in a variety of ways in their teaching, such as compare/contrast differences. As many of us know children learn differently and grasp things at different levels. Some children may need to use the pictures for the story to really make sense to them. However this visual aspect can also backfire as researcher Steven Cary pointed out sometimes the visual image is more graphic than the words.

For me as a teacher, I think it would be a great idea to use graphic novels in different aspects of teaching literature/literacy to children. I think the children would enjoy this different type of reading assignment and it may even be the thing to interest them in reading, and that’s what it’s all about. We want them to read!

Can you imagine a graphic novel for Goodnight Moon? Could be interesting…….

 

 

